My Communities

The Cowichan Valley

is one of 27 regional districts in British Columbia. It is comprised of nine electoral areas and four municipalities in the southern part of Vancouver Island. With a population of over 80,000 residents, it covers a land area of 3,473.12 km².

A common question residents have is what services do the various levels of government provide. The Federal Government oversees areas of law and standards that generally affect the whole country – transportation safety, food safety, national defence, and banking. The Provincial Government oversees areas common to the province – health care, hunting and fishing, provincial court and energy production. The local level is governed by Regional and Municipal Governments.